Reviews

Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent location on The SquareNear all amenities Nice my decorated modern look to Room, clean and tidy, hot Shower-and comfortable Bed.It was more like a cute little Self Catering Studio with the Supplied Fridge, Toaster, Kettle, Microwave and Utensils for 2.Considering the Guesthouse is directly above the Square with a couple of Pubs /Bars ion a Weekend it was surprisingly quiet.The only suggestion zi have is to put a Warning Sign on the edge of the Wall on the Stairs and also for the top Floor Stairs as at a couple of points in goes quite low for people who are tallI will definitely stay here again and next time bring some friends.

Reviewer:Paula A | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Good location - Rating 4/5

Great location but single glazing meant it was quite noisy.

Reviewer:William W | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely Room,Great Location. - Rating 5/5

A very nice room at the top of the building and so great views of the Square.Clean,nicely decorated en suite,fridge,microwave,tea coffee etc. The rate does not include breakfast which is great because you can get up when you want to and do not have to sit with a bunch of strangers before coffee. Right outside the Guest House are two bakers and a Gregg's.I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:linda j | Sun 28th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


perfect little stop over - Rating 4/5

my husband and i fancied a weekend in Kelso to do some sight seeing,the guesthouse is an ideal stop over due to the location, free parking directly to the front in the square. plenty little pubs and eating places in the surrounding area. A great price,clean and tea,coffee milk and sugar, shower gel provided and hand wash,washing up liquid for your little prep area which had a toaster,microwave,cutlery etc if you wanted to prepare your own food. Easy check in and check out.would go back no problem.

Reviewer:Melanie E | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Perfect for us - Rating 5/5

The location was perfect - right in the centre of Kelso. No problems with parking.Room was clean and spacious and had kettle, toaster ,microwave.and fridgeHaving tea/ coffee and milk provided for arrival was thoughtful and appreciated.We were on the 2nd floor and it would be an issue for anyone with mobility problemsI loved Kelso and the surrounding area and have no hesitation in recommending the Central Guesthouse.I wished I’d been there more than one night.

Reviewer:John L | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect Spot in Central Kelso - Rating 5/5

Great spot in the center of Kelso! The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the hosts were very helpful and easy to communicate with.I would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Dominick S | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Kelso centre stay - Rating 3/5

The room was very well located and parking was easy.I would however say that perhaps it should be made clear the top 2 rooms are difficult to get to especially for more mature couples with luggage. Stairs were difficult, steep and numerous and being spiral didn’t help.It was good value for money.

Reviewer:Sue C | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Stay - Rating 3/5

We considered the accommodation adequate however our stay was let down by finding a dinner encrusted plate in the drawer which affected our feelings about the guest house.We found the grey paint rather depressing but the beds were comfortable.

Reviewer:Kevin C | Wed 19th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Central Guesthouse Kelso - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay in Kelso, well furnished and equipped, this was our second year of staying here.fully recommend.

Reviewer:Margarette N | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Below average for satisfaction at this price range - Rating 2/5

Central location good but VERY noisy especially early in the morning. The flights of stairs were an issue. Beds comfortable and place clean, but poor value for money.

Reviewer:Allan L | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Reasonable value for money - Rating 4/5

Good access, everything we needed in a convenient location. Basic but reasonable value for money paid.

Reviewer:Sally W | Mon 20th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Central Guesthouse - Rating 3/5

Excellent value. Very helpful owners. Bathroom floor flooded when using the bath. Woken after midnight, and again in the morning, by creaking floorboards in room above as occupant moved around.

Reviewer:Morag R | Sat 11th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Convenient in Kelso - Rating 5/5

Great location. Clean room, very comfy beds, crisp white linen and very affordable.

Reviewer:Sammy G | Thu 9th May 2019 | 6 months ago


central guest house kelso - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, very clean and presentable, microwave and kettle/fridge etc were welcome additions when travelling with a toddler. One small point, as with all wee scottish towns of a saturday night in the square, they are noisy until about 2am. A wee complimentary pair of foam earlplugs on the pillows would be a lovely gesture just to help block out the noise. Would 100% stay with you again. Best, David

Reviewer:David R | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Central guest house - Rating 2/5

The accommodation was as expected as we had read trip advisor. The stairs are steep and I do not remember that being made clear on the website. Very difficult if you were elderly. We were on the third floor and the bathroom could do with refurbishment. My main concern was fire safety and I am not sure whether regulations were met. Plenty of fire extinguishers and a fire plan, but in the event of a fire I do not think you would get out of the third floor. The only door I saw that said keep clear for fire exit was locked with a Yale lock. I don't know where it could have led. Maybe it's all fine but I was uneasy and would not rebook.

Reviewer:patricia f | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Fantastic location - Rating 4/5

We booked the family room as we were two couples , the room was fine , location great, our friends live in kelso so we all met in the centre for a night out.my room was the double , the chair was badly damaged, should be thrown out , and the small wardrobe front damaged , these could easily be replaced from a charity shop . A long mirror on the wall would be good . Other than these, all fine . Lovely clean crisp bed linen and towels. Nice touch with the tea, coffee ,milk ect.bathroom nice and clean ,oh forgothot water tap abit too hot , need to put a sign up stating very hot water . Would definitely like to stay again when we return to kelso.

Reviewer:Karen H | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


A few days away - Rating 4/5

We booked a couple of days away for Easter and fancied a couple of days in Scotland. Room price was reasonable and very central, right in the middle of the town, which was great. A good selection of pubs and places to eat, The Cobbles pub was just over the road from us and was brilliant, with excellent entertainment on and a great selection of drinks.The room was clean, with a good sized bathroom and lovely comfy beds.We were in room four, which meant we had a lot of stairs to climb. Good job we we are fit! LolBasic cooking facilities were there, just what we needed as there were plenty of places to eat out. Easy to follow instructions on arrival and was kept updated with information needed well before arrival via email.Had a fab stay, and would come back again.

Reviewer:Julie W | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Perfect- Rating 5/5

Cracking wee room. Perfect size. Extremely comfortable bed. Clean. Definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Sandra F | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Visit friends and family- Rating 5/5

Hotel was perfect for my needs

Reviewer:Anne Marie F | Mon 14th Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

The Central could not have been better for me.Located within a minute of a Christmas function I was attending, I found the flexible self check-in really useful and the quality of the accommodation was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:James C | Wed 26th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Room 4 - Rating 4/5

Nice comfortable room ,comfy bedGood location in the heart of KelsoDefo stay again

Reviewer:Jim W | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Central Guesthouse - Rating 4/5

HiEnjoyed our stay we had the Apt and Twin Room and as we have stayed several times before, they were just as comfortable and clean.There were a few issues though the locks on the doors were akward to open took several attempts.The shower in the Apt was awkward to use and one day it wouldn't come on this really needs to be looked at.We couldn't get the microwave to come on and quite an awkward place to be taking hot food from would be better on a high surface.We will be back again next year

Reviewer:Jackie C | Wed 24th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Happy. - Rating 5/5

My family have used this property twice in recent months have found it to be convenient, comfy and great value. Delighted and will definitely return

Reviewer:John R | Fri 19th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Noisy - Rating 3/5

The room was fine only thing no hairdryer in room and the bed at window not great as a lot of noise in the square on Sat night with people waiting on taxi.

Reviewer:Stephen c | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Basic but clean - Rating 4/5

Nice room just what we needed for golf trip, but please look at shower pressure as it was really poor.

Reviewer:Stewart C | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


no real pictures - Rating 1/5

The place is old and the pictures are far from the real situation

Reviewer:blanca N | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Fine place - Rating 4/5

Fine place to stay a cupple Of dage. The room was fin with possibilities to eat and keep food in a fridg. Good possibilities to park a car. The staff is helpsom and friendly.

Response

Thank you for nice response glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Reviewer:Catherine M | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 3/5

Our stay here was very good . It was handy for us as we had the dog with us , it was clean n tidy with everything you need , we would stay here again

Reviewer:Anne F | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice accommodation- Rating 4/5

The room was nice and clean and warm. The only problem with our room was that we had to climb 50 steps up to reach it which would be very difficult for elderly or disabled people. But good value

Reviewer:Michael B | Wed 21st Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Stayed for one night - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night for a family funeral. We asked if we could possibly check out a little later and was told it was no problem just to let them know when we were leaving.The rooms were very clean and as described. We would be more than happy to stay here again and was situated in the town centre.

Reviewer:christine p | Sat 17th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend in kelso - Rating 3/5

Very noisy as right on the street.52 steep stairs to our room,not good for my asthma !The room was very clean.

Reviewer:Leslie M | Wed 11th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Kelso Retreat - Rating 5/5

Excellent in all respects would stay here again rather than using the hotel across the street

Reviewer:george C | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


70\'s throwback but I like the 70\'s - Rating 4/5

Room and ensuite quite dated but very clean and comfy and for the price spot on. Just a warning if you don't like stairs - lots of winding ones to top floor rooms where we stayed. We managed them fine though and would definitely book again for a quick visit.

Reviewer:Jeanette H | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Centrally located - Rating 4/5

Ideal location in the centre of town but not disturbed by traffic. Very comfortable and great parking. Everything on your doorstep.

Reviewer:Sylvia B | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


So vomfortable - Rating 5/5

Had a very enjoyable, comfortable stay.Will come again.

Reviewer:Norma M | Thu 5th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Great experience - Rating 5/5

Can't say enough good things about the place. Really spicy, nice and clean and super service from Louise regarding everything from laundry to key collecting !

Reviewer:Rasmus H | Tue 19th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Room 4 - Rating 4/5

I stayed with my son who was playing a golf tournament in Kelso. This is the second year we have stayed and the guest house was everything we wanted/needed. I have a couple of, I hope, constructive comments. I would have preferred a shower and I don't think there is any need for the unit against the far wall. Getting rid of this would give a lot more space in the bedroom.

Reviewer:iain f | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Contact

The Central Guesthouse
51 The Square
Kelso
Scottish Borders
TD5 7HF

07410515514
079018870892
E-Mail

Our Facilities

  • Self Catering
  • Credit Card
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi